Saturday in Review – Spring is Springing

12 04 2009

Guess What This Is

These have been growing on my neighbor’s fence since we have lived here. Only yesterday did I realize they actually make fruit. I thought it was a mythical name, but they really do exist. If you know what it is, leave a comment. Otherwise, I’ll make you wait until it drops to the ground and I eat it.

Mystery-Fruit

AJ Builds Bamboo Wind Chimes

Add whittling to AJ’s list of skills. Today he carved up some of the green bamboo into what is sure to be the best looking and best sounding set of wind chimes in Brevard County.

AJ-Cutting-Chimes

AJ-cuts-chimes

Chimes-Cut

My Walk Around the Neighborhood

The weather was beautiful. We weren’t able to get the soil for Oasis2, so I used my energy to check out the neighborhood. Sadly, a few more people have leveled the sand dunes and destroyed the scrub habitat for their cookie cutter stucco houses; but there is still some natural land left.

Gopher Tortoise Butt

He was looking out when I approached, but got shy and showed me his butt when I went to take the photo.

Gopher-tortoise-butt

Prickly pear blooming

I accidentally broke down a neighboring cactus; so I brought it home to plant. Prickly pear fruit is so good.

Prickly-Pear-Bloom

Prickly-Pear

Deer Moss

This stuff is increasingly rare; but I know of a few patches where it still thrives.

Deer-Moss-Patch

Deer-Moss

Carpenter Bee

This guy was miffed about my invading his territory. He buzzed me for a long time; often hovering inches in front of my lens. Unfortunately I am not equipped for shooting fast moving insects.

Carpenter-Bee1

Carpenter-Bee2

Black Racer

Nature was bold today. I heard a rustling and looked over to see this snake emerge from the brush. It was preoccupied with its search for food and didn’t seem to notice me at all.

Black-Snake-2

In this shot the black racer was so close I could have reached out and grabbed it. Unfortunately, I was not equipped for photographing snakes either. Sorry for posting blurry shots.

Black-Snake-1

Back Home

Synchronized Cat Rolling

Llami and Smokey are on the same wavelength.

Cats-Sleep

Cats-Roll

Dinner From the Garden

The lettuce is finally growing. I know I should thin it out and let a few plants grow large, but I can’t bring myself to do it. Instead, I plucked the outer leaves from all three varieties (Bibb, Romaine and Oak Leaf).

Bibb-Lettuce

Lettuce

Not sure if AJ realizes he ate weeds for dinner; but I also put some Purslane in our salad.

Purslane

This is all you will hear from me for a couple of days, unless something spectacular happens. I have housework and work work to get done before the weekend is over.

Actions

Information

One response

18 04 2009
Home from Funky Chicken Farm « Trailerparkqueen’s Weblog

[…] this look familiar? This is the mystery fruit from “Saturday in Review – Spring is Springing”. Things didn’t turn out quite like I expected. This is a passion fruit from a variety of […]

Leave a Reply

