Just One Week Behind

24 05 2009

Like the title says. I’m a week behind. I have lots of things to post and will surely run out of time before I cover everything. You may actually appreciate my brevity, especially if you don’t like snakes.

Warning: Snakes Ahead!

The baby lovers will want to stick around, though. And who doesn’t love a baby; especially one as absolutely precious as sweet Madeline Mae Dailey.

Attention: Cuteness Ahead!

Christy and Chris came to visit last weekend. We had a good time and I got to spend the whole of Saturday with Mady while they went to Ikea in Orlando. This child is an angel. She smiles and giggles constantly and only cries when she has unmet needs. She is spoiled though, and thinks that one of her needs is to be held all day long. How do parents get anything done? I quickly learned to time all my chores during her frequent, yet brief naps. It was good in a way. Only having a few minutes to get something done eliminates the urge to procrastinate.

Mady turned six months old while she was with us. She is acting like she plans to skip the crawl stage and go straight to walking. She will be talking before you know it. Maybe then she can tell me when I put her diapers on backwards. Those things have gotten complicated since the days when I last changed diapers. The last victim of my diaper changing just graduated from high school this weekend! Do I ever feel old.

Well, enough of my rambling and on to the pictures.

“Come here and pick me up!”

Mady-Mae

Christy & Madeline. How could she not be cute with a mom this beautiful?

ChristykissMady

Chris & Madeline. Of course, she got her father’s dominant genes. Good thing he’s easy on the eyes, too.

ChrisMady

She even wakes up smiling. What a darling!

Good-Morning-Mady

While all of the cuteness took place inside, AJ spent most of his time outside. He finished up those bamboo wind chimes.

Treating-chimes

Chimes-Drying

They look and sound great. Ever the perfectionist, he is still tweaking them for that ideal sound.

Bamboo-chimes

We all came out to enjoy a little sunshine and heard the strangest noise. It was a faint, yet desperate shrieking that none of us could identify. We traced it to the palm tree that AJ had just trimmed earlier. Up at the heart we saw our neighborhood Southern Black Racer (Coluber constrictor pirapus) eating something. I climbed up on a chair, but could not identify the victim. Within moments the entire creature had been consumed. It may have been a baby bird, a small rat or squirrel, a frog or even a bat. All we saw was a long leg sticking out as the snake finished its meal. Sometimes nature is hard to watch. But the snake was content and took its time descending from the treetop.

Southern Black Racer in Palm Tree

I was allowed to get close enough for a macro; which is no easy feat with these typically speedy snakes.

Southern Black Racer in Bromeliad

Thanks for humoring my putting snakes and babies in the same post. I’ve still got a week to go and the day is growing short. Check out my next post for the results of the deluge we enjoyed this week.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment